© Website By:  (Professional Computer Services, Inc.) Copyright © 2002-2020 [Muldraugh Hill Baptist Church]. All rights reserved. Revised: 4/19/2020

Bro. Billy Compton

(Pastor of MHBC from August, 2018 - Present)

Dr. Billy Compton (Bro. Billy) has lived and served as pastor of Baptist churches in Kentucky his entire ministry. He began with the church in the community where he grew up in Hart County, Kentucky, at the Hardyville Union Church also where he graduated from Hart Memorial High School. He graduated from Campbellsville University with an English/Bible major and minor and The Southern Baptist Theological Seminary with a Master of Divinity. Then, he completed his formal education with a Doctor of Ministry from the Fuller Theological Seminary in Pasadena, California with a concentration of studies in Church Growth. Dr. Compton has served in two different positions with the Kentucky Baptist Convention: 1989-1992 as Associate Evangelism Director, and 2008-2012 as Executive Associate for Cooperative Program and Resources. He was pastor of First Baptist Church, Mt. Washington at two different times (1992-96 and 2012-2017) and served as the President of the Kentucky Baptist Convention in 1995. Other churches where he has enjoyed a meaningful ministry is with the Calvary Baptist Church in Glasgow, the Living Hope Baptist Church in Bowling Green, and the Severns Valley Baptist Church in Elizabethtown. He and his wife, Sue Ann, have two children and four grandchildren. Margo, their daughter, is married to David Atcher. She teaches Spanish at South Oldham Middle School, and David is the Worship Pastor for the Westport Road Baptist Church in Louisville. They have Bailey, a nine-year-old daughter, and Anna Kate, age six. Will, their son, is a math teacher at Red Cross Elementary School in Glasgow; he has two sons: William, age 12, and Wade, age 9. Sue Ann serves alongside Bro. Billy in his pastoral ministry. She supports the family and loves the work of the church. She has served in various areas of ministry with her spiritual gifts of communications and hospitality. She teaches Introductory and Research Writing Courses in the English Department at the University of Louisville. She earned an undergraduate degree from Western Kentucky University with an English/History major and a Master of English from U of L. Bro. Billy became the Interim Pastor of Muldraugh Hill Baptist Church on January 21, 2018 after the resignation of Bro. Steve Skaggs on September 4, 2017. The Pastor Search “Pulpit” Committee later made a recommendation to call Bro. Billy as the next pastor. The vote was taken by ballot in a Special Called Business Meeting on July 22, 2018 during the Morning Worship Service. There was an overwhelming 99.2% (120 yes; 1 no) affirmative “yes” vote to call Bro. Billy Compton as the next pastor of Muldraugh Hill Baptist Church! Bro. Billy accepted the call after the announcement of the vote was made. Bro. Billy and Sue Ann expressed their desire to move their membership to Muldraugh Hill Baptist Church. The congregation filed by after the service to welcome them as members and to congratulate/welcome Bro. Billy as the new Pastor. See Pictures Bro. Billy was officially installed in a special ceremony during the Morning Worship Service on August 5, 2018. David England, Chairman of the Pastor Search “Pulpit” Committee (click for details) made an introduction of the process and referenced the passage of scripture from 1 Timothy 3:1-7. Bro. Rusty Ellison, Transitional Pastor of Campbellsville Baptist Church and friend of Bro. Billy’s, delivered a special message, detailing their special friendship over the years. Bro. Billy, Bro. Rusty, and the congregation sang in acapella, “I Stand Amazed in the Presence”. Mark Carney, Chairman of the Deacons, performed the installation by delivering the “Charge to the Pastor and the Church”. Other active deacons present were: Larry Bright, Josh Veatch, Sam Graham, and Jim Sabo, Jr. Trent Pyles was unable to attend. Bro. Billy then delivered the message, “Why Am I Here?” from Acts 10. (Pictures to be posted later)

History of Muldraugh Hill Baptist Church

Pastors of MHBC 1875-1880 - Thomas Underwood 1880-1883 - E. H. Brookshire 1883-1884 - J. C. Wray 1885-1886 - Thomas Underwood 1886-1889 - V. E. Kirtley 1889-1890 - J. H. Riffe 1890-1893 - W. M. Stallings 1893-1903 - J. T. Hall 1903-1912 - J. W. Crawley 1912-1915 - T. E. Ennis 1915-1916 - No name in minutes 1916-1917 - T. E. Ennis 1917-1918 - A. R. Abarnathy 1918-1920 - No name in minutes 1920-1921 - W. C. Hundley 1921-1924 - No name in minutes 1924-1928 - W. C. Hundley 1928-1929 - C. L. Harmon 1929-1932 - W. C. Hundley 1932-1938 - L. E. Whitlow 1938-1940 - E. M. Gash 1940-1944 - G. E. Puckett 1944-1947 - John T. Pierce 1947-1950 - John M. Wall 1950-1954 - W. R. Beard 1954-1955 - W. R. Cook 1955-1958 - Kit Yeaste 1958-1961 - Richard Shields 1961-1963 - Harold Meers 1963-1968 - E. V. Carrier 1969-1974 - Bruce Hullette 1975-1980 - William Earl Pike 1980-2012 - Victor J. Stansbury 2013-2017 - Steven Skaggs 2018- Billy Compton
For Your Convenience